Governors Midwest Initiatives Events About Us Text


State of Illinois
State of Indiana
State of Iowa
State of Michigan
State of Missouri
State of Nebraska
State of North Dakota
State of Ohio
State of South Dakota
State of Wisconsin


      Find us on Facebook View our profile on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter


Working together to advance a strong, sustainable economy for America's Smartland

The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a non-profit, bipartisan organization that brings together governors and their staff to address public policy issues of significance to the region. The MGA provides governors with the opportunity to foster regional development and attain greater efficiency in state administration. It coordinates a regional agenda before Congress and the Federal government as well as facilitates the exchange of views and experiences on subjects of importance to the people of Midwestern states.

The region's governors offer innovative and practical approaches and solutions that serve as national modes for addressing some of America's most pressing challenges. With regional concerns and objectives in mind, the MGA focuses its efforts in four main policy areas:

The MGA includes the governors of 12 Midwestern states. Its efforts are led by the Executive Committee, which consists of the Chair, Vice Chair and Immediate Past Chair of the association. The governors serving in these positions are nominated and elected by their fellow Midwestern governors at the MGA's Winter Meeting each February.

The MGA Staff Advisory Committee (SAC) supports the Executive Committee on behalf of the region's governors. Appointed by their respective governors, committee members include Midwestern chief executives' top policy advisors. The SAC maintains an ongoing interstate dialogue to identify the most pressing issues facing the region and oversees the development of cooperative efforts and joint policy statements.

Visit our governors page to learn more about the current Midwestern governors.


MGA Staff


Jesse Heier is the executive director of the MGA and manages the activities of the MGA Staff Advisory Committee. He holds an interdisciplinary undergraduate degree in communications, legal institutions, economics and government from American University and a master's of health science degree from the Johns Hopkins University. Before joining the MGA, he worked in the Maryland governor’s office where he advanced the administration’s agenda on natural resources, energy and smart growth issues. Previously, he worked in the Office of Management Services at the National Governors Association.



Jeff Ewart is the Deputy Director of the MGA. He has performed a variety of duties for the association since 2009. Prior to that, Jeff attended Juniata College in Pennsylvania where he received his bachelor's degree in politics. Jeff also served as an intern at MGA in 2008 before joining the team full-time.



Mike Gregerson is a transmission consultant to the MGA. Mike has over 35 years of executive management and consulting experience in the electric utility arena including environmental and regulatory affairs and customer service. Mike previously served as Vice President of Customer Care for Xcel Energy, where he managed customer service for 3 million electric and gas customers. As Director of Environmental and Regulatory Affairs for Northern States Power (now a unit of Xcel Energy), he led company efforts to deal with acid rain, power plant and high voltage transmission line impact issues. Mike attended the University of Minnesota where he received a bachelor of science degree in engineering and a master's degree in public health.

Profile picture for Bradford WilburBradford Wilbur is the spring 2018 intern for MGA, through MGA he hopes to gain work experience in policy and government work. He is working and studying in Washington D.C. through The Washington Center program. He is a junior at The University of New Hampshire and is pursuing a degree in political science.